March 1, 2024
Featured Latest News Politics

PM Votes In Presidential Election, Chief Ministers, MPs Queue Up

Today, starting at ten in the morning, Prime Minister Narendra Modi participated in the presidential election. Additionally, MPs have lined up in the parliament to cast their ballots for India’s 15th president. State legislators, who make up the electoral college, vote from their respective state assemblies.

Draupadi Murmu, the NDA candidate, is predicted to win with ease, becoming the nation’s first tribal leader. She is also expected to become the youngest president of India to date at the age of 64. Given that a number of regional parties have also endorsed Ms. Murmu’s candidacy, she is predicted to receive about 62% of the vote overall.

On July 21, the ballots will be counted, and on July 25, the new President will take the oath of office. The main rival to Ms. Murmu is former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha.

Members of Parliament will cast their ballots inside a polling place that has been set up on the grounds of the Parliament. The returning officer for this election is the secretary general of the Rajya Sabha. Members of the Electoral College, which consists of elected members of Parliament and all state assemblies, including those in the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry, elect the president.

Members of the Legislative Council, state Assemblies, and members of the Parliament who have been nominated are ineligible to vote. 4,033 MLAs and 776 MPs combined will cast ballots in the presidential elections.

The Vice Presidential election will take place on August 6, while the Presidential election is taking place right now. The parliament’s monsoon session, which also starts today, will begin at 11 a.m. and last through August 12. Throughout the session, there will be 18 sittings.

Picture Courtesy: google/images are subject to copyright


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *