May 29, 2024
Featured Latest News Sports

Women’s Premier League To Be Held In Mumbai From March 4-26: IPL Chairman Arun Dhumal

The Women’s Premier League (WPL) will play its eagerly anticipated debut season from March 4 to March 26 in Mumbai. All of the games will take place at the Brabourne Stadium and the DY Patil Stadium, with the tournament’s first game between Gujarat Giants and a franchise owned by the Mumbai Indians anticipated. IPL commissioner Arun Dhumal informed PTI on Monday that the Women’s Premier League will be played in Mumbai from March 4 to March 26.

The auction will take place on February 13 in Mumbai, the day following India’s T20 World Cup match against Pakistan, according to Dhumal’s additional confirmation.

The WPL is the second-largest T20 League in the world, behind the Indian Premier League, with the five clubs selling for a combined total of Rs 4669.99 crore and the BCCI selling the media rights for Rs 951.

The five franchises were purchased by Capri Global Holdings (Lucknow) and the Adani Sportsline in addition to the three IPL team owners, the Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Delhi Capitals.

The league has received registrations from about 1500 participants, and the final roster is anticipated to be made public later this week.

At the player auction next month, each side will have a budget of Rs 12 crore and must purchase a minimum of 15 players and a maximum of 18. The starting eleven may contain up to five foreign players, including one from an associate member nation.

The first season will consist of 22 games, with the top-ranked team in the league stage automatically advancing to the championship game. The second and third-placed teams will compete for a spot in the championship game.

Picture Courtesy: Google/images are subject to copyright


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *