December 10, 2023
Featured Latest News Politics

Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Yatra Worked For Karnataka Polls, Says Ashok Gehlot

In response to the results of the Karnataka assembly elections, Ashok Gehlot, the chief minister of Rajasthan and a well-known Congress party member, credited Rahul Gandhi’s pan-Indian foot march “Bharat Jodo Yatra” for his party’s impressive showing.

His tweet on his party’s success in Hindi, when translated to English, reads: “The atmosphere that was visible in Karnataka during Mr. Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Yatra is clearly visible in the election results in Karnataka today. Under the leadership of UPA Chairperson Mrs. Sonia Gandhi, Congress President Mr. Mallikarjun Kharge, Mr. Rahul Gandhi, and Mrs. Priyanka Gandhi, Congress leaders did a great campaign. Karnataka has chosen the politics of development by rejecting communal politics. This will be repeated in the upcoming Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, and Telangana assembly elections as well.”

The 3,570-km “Bharat Jodo Yatra,” which started on September 7 in Kanyakumari and ended on January 30 in Srinagar, afforded the former Congress president Rahul Gandhi several opportunities to interact with locals. He considered this march to be one of his “most beautiful and profound experiences.”

In the meantime, a resurgent Congress looked poised to defeat the BJP in Karnataka with a simple majority and a triumph that would bolster its confidence in the run-up to the Lok Sabha elections the following year.

As of the most recent trends, the Mallikarjun Kharge-led party was ahead in 119 of the 224-member House, whose elections for which were held on May 10, much exceeding the 113-mark required for a majority.
The JD(S), led by former Chief Minister H D Deve Gowda, was ahead in 24 of the segments, while the BJP, which won 104 seats in the previous Assembly elections, was ahead in 74. In seven segments, others were in the lead.

While Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai (Shiggaon), former CM Siddaramaiah (Varuna), state Congress President D K Shivakumar (Kanakapura), and JD(S) leader H D Kumaraswamy (Channapatna) are among the prominent faces leading in their respective segments, Kumaraswamy’s son Nikhil (Ramanagara), BJP national General Secretary C T Ravi (Chikkamagaluru), and former CM Jagadish Shettar of the Congress (Hubli-Dharwad Central) are trailing.

Picture Courtesy: Google/images are subject to copyright


Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *