Published On: Tue, Jul 25th, 2017

Ram Nath Kovind to be sworn as President today

swearing-in-ceremony-of-president_0c3fdd18-710f-11e7-a1e4-b67c25a49489The elected candidate for the post of President of India Ram Nath Kovind was sworn into power on Tuesday. Former BJP member and RSS activist, Mr Kovind is the 14th President of India. The Oath of office was administered by Chief Justice J S Khehar in the presence of outgoing President Pranab Mukherjee and Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Parliaments central hall.

My Kovind is the second Dalit President of India after K R Narayanan who served as the President of India from 1997 to 2002. Prior to this, he was served as Governor of Bihar State. The NDA candidate received a majority of 66 % of the votes over the oppositions Meira Kumar

The Oath ceremony was accompanied by Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Narendra modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, Union Ministers, Governors, Chief Ministers, Ambassadors and other diplomats, MP’s and senior civil society and military officers.

Azam Sait

Photo Courtesy : Google/ images may be subject to copyright




About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :

Ram Nath Kovind to be sworn as President today